Filing for Divorce in Colorado
When filing for divorce in Colorado, the following criteria must be met:
- At least one spouse must be a resident of the state of Colorado for at least 90 days before filing for divorce;
- The marriage must be “irretrievably broken;”
- At least 90 days or more must have passed since a petition for divorce was submitted.
While this part of the divorce process is pretty cut and dry, getting everything finalized requires the skill and expertise of an experienced divorce lawyer in Colorado. A good divorce lawyer should not only be able to help you through the initial stages of filing for divorce, but be there to help you present a solid case to protect your rights and interests throughout every stage of your divorce.
Once the initial 90 days have passed after filing for divorce, all the details of how the marital estate will be divided must be put into writing and agreed upon by both parties. When couples can agree to the terms of their divorce without the assistance of a judge, it is considered an uncontested divorce. When couples cannot agree to the terms of their divorce and must present their case to a judge, it is considered a contested divorce.
Contact Our Experienced Divorce Lawyer in Colorado
Gordon N. Shayne has over 30 years of experience helping people through Colorado divorce filings. He understands the tremendous stress you may be feeling during this traumatic time and provides the advice you need to make informed decisions about filing for divorce in Colorado. With an intimate knowledge of divorce procedures, divorce laws and child support guidelines, Gordon provides ethical and effective legal representation when you need it most. Whether you are anticipating an uncontested or contested divorce in Colorado, contact Gordon today for experienced legal representation.
Call Gordon N. Shayne at 719-442-6649 for a
FREE CONSULTATION* today!
*for those individuals interested in retaining legal counsel and who have the financial means to hire an attorney